California is at it again, this time leading the charge to raise minimum wages.
On April 4, 2016, Governor Brown signed into law SB 3, increasing California’s minimum wage to $15 per hour by 2022. Under the new law, employers with 26 or more employees will face minimum wage increases as follows:
|Date||Minimum Hourly Wage|
|January 1, 2017||$10.50|
|January 1, 2018||$11.00|
|January 1, 2019||$12.00|
|January 1, 2020||$13.00|
|January 1, 2021||$14.00|
|January 1, 2022||$15.00|
For any employer who employs 25 or fewer employees, the implementation of the minimum wage law is delayed by one year.
Further, after 2023, the minimum wage can be increased up to 3.5% for inflation as measured by the Consumer Price Index.
And, of course, some California cities have their own minimum wage requirements:
|Date||Los Angeles||San Francisco|
|July 1, 2016||$10.50||$13.00|
|July 1, 2017||$12.00||$14.00|
|July 1, 2018||$13.25||$15.00|
|July 1, 2019||$14.25||CPI|
|July 1, 2020||$15.00||N/A|
Although we would like to hear from you, we cannot represent you until we know that doing so will not create a conflict of interest. Also, we cannot treat unsolicited information as confidential. Accordingly, please do not send us any information about any matter that may involve you until you receive a written statement from us that we represent you (an ‘engagement letter’).
By clicking the ‘ACCEPT’ button, you agree that we may review any information you transmit to us. You recognize that our review of your information, even if you submitted it in a good faith effort to retain us, and, further, even if you consider it confidential, does not preclude us from representing another client directly adverse to you, even in a matter where that information could and will be used against you. Please click the ‘ACCEPT’ button if you understand and accept the foregoing statement and wish to proceed.