Home > Diversity & Inclusion > Thomas F. Eagleton Scholarship

Thomas F. Eagleton Scholarship

Thompson Coburn’s core values include a commitment to treat each other with civility, respect, sensitivity and tolerance. The natural extension of these core values is our strong commitment to building a diverse workforce. While we’re proud of our efforts to recruit, retain and develop the careers of people from diverse backgrounds and firmly believe these efforts will result in our becoming increasingly diverse in the future, we are always seeking new opportunities to make a greater impact.

With that in mind, our Diversity Committee, working with the firm’s Employment Committee and Director of Diversity & Inclusion, developed the Thomas F. Eagleton Scholarship, in memory of our late partner and former U.S. Senator, Tom Eagleton.

The Senator was a man of vision. He had a strong personal commitment to helping people. He believed in giving, and was especially generous when it came to giving others his time and attention. So it was only fitting that when we established the Thomas F. Eagleton Scholarship, we made it more than a monetary award to a deserving minority law student. The winner receives a full year of mentoring provided by one of our partners, and a paid summer internship for the summer following the student’s all-important first year of law school.

This combination of financial support, guidance and a first step toward a successful legal career will make a difference to each student who is honored with the Thomas F. Eagleton Scholarship.

We believe that this is the best way to honor the Senator’s belief in community and helping others while actively demonstrating our firm’s commitment to diversity. This scholarship the and impact it will have would make the Senator proud.

The efforts of one law firm can’t make the legal profession truly diverse. But we can make a difference, one person at a time.

The Senator Thomas F. Eagleton Scholarship includes:

  • $15,000 stipend.  Stipend will be paid in (2) equal installments.  
  • Summer internship with the Firm following the first year of law school.  Recipient will receive a weekly stipend.  Internship is renewable.
  • Mentorship from Thompson Coburn partner(s).  

Scholarship Eligibility

To be eligible to receive the Thomas F. Eagleton Scholarship an applicant must meet each of the following requirements:

  • Enrolled as a first year law school student at one of the following institutions: 
       • Washington University School of Law; 
       • Saint Louis University School of Law; 
       • University of Missouri – Columbia School of Law;  or
       • University of Illinois School of Law
  • Student from a demographic group that is underrepresented in the legal profession
  • Minimum cumulative grade point average of 2.75 (on a 4.0 scale) at undergraduate institution.
  • Citizen or permanent resident of the United States, or able to work in the United States without limit as to duration or the need for employer sponsorship (students in F-1 status are not eligible).  
  • Demonstrate the ability to promote or enhance diversity in the legal profession. 

Before receiving scholarships funds, recipient will be required to demonstrate admission to and plans to enroll at one of the participating law schools.

Application Materials

  1. Application Form.  Each applicant must complete the application form.  Available February 1st- June 1st; annually.  
  2. Essay (750-100 words).  The essay will consist of (5) questions. Providing the answers to the questions gives you an opportunity to include information that the application form does not convey and that you feel will assist us in reaching a thoughtful decision with respect to your application.  
  3. Letters of Recommendation.  Each applicant must submit (2) letters of recommendation, at least one of which may be from a professor or employer.  No more than two recommendations will be considered.  
    The recommenders should return their letters to you in sealed, signed envelopes, to be included with your application.  If your law school maintains a central file of recommendations, that office may place copies of the recommendations in a sealed envelope signed by an authorized person in that office.  The recommendations must be submitted with the application.
  4. Transcript(s).  Each applicant must submit an official or unofficial copy of transcripts from both undergraduate and graduate institutions.  

Annual Application Period:  February 1st- June 1st 

Eagleton Scholarship Recipients

2007-2008 Felicia Williams  Washington University 
2008-2009 Nikki Rivers Washington University 
2009-2010 Oscar Pina  University of Illinois 
2010-2011  Deona DeClue  Washington University 
2011-2012  Aaron Banks  Saint Louis University 
2012-2013 Ginny Woodfork  Washington University 
2013-2014 Gursharon Shergill  Washington University 
2014-2015  Jesse Doggendorf  Washington University 
2015-2016  Frederick Rhine  Washington University 
2016-2017  Matthew Smith  University of Missouri 
2017-2018 Ashton Dietrich  Saint Louis University 
2018-2019  Katherine Murchison  Washington University 



Eagleton Scholar Felicia Williams discusses diversity at Thompson Coburn.