Home > News & Events > Tom Minogue to receive ICON Award from Missouri Lawyers Media

Tom Minogue to receive ICON Award from Missouri Lawyers Media

May 7, 2020

Thompson Coburn Chair Tom Minogue has been selected to receive an ICON Award from Missouri Lawyers Media.

The ICON Awards celebrate distinguished Missouri attorneys age 60 or older who have demonstrated notable, sustained success and strong leadership within and outside the field of law. Honorees must hold or have held a senior management-level position with significant authority in decision-making for his or her organization.

The 26 honorees in the 2020 ICON Awards are respected practitioners from across Missouri and will be recognized in a June issue of Missouri Lawyers Weekly.

Tom has served as chairman of Thompson Coburn for 20 years, leading the Firm through a period of growth and nationwide expansion. During Tom’s tenure, Thompson Coburn became the largest firm in St. Louis and forged a national presence, opening new offices in Chicago, Dallas and Los Angeles and expanding in Washington, D.C. Recognizing that diversity is a central component of a successful business enterprise, Thompson Coburn led the development of diversity programs that directly address the Big Law diversity gap and provide opportunities for underrepresented attorneys and law students. These efforts were recognized last year when the Minority Corporate Counsel Association awarded Thompson Coburn its 2019 George B. Vashon Innovator Award, which honors organizations that have made extraordinary strides to support diverse attorneys.

As a legal advisor to some of the region's largest companies for more than 30 years, Tom has helped executives pursue fundamental change for their own organizations and achieve high-level strategic objectives. Chambers USA has recognized Tom as a top-tier Corporate/M&A attorney (2009-2020 by Chambers & Partners) and in 2019 named Tom to its "Eminent Practitioner" category. In 2019, the St. Louis Business Journal awarded Tom the Legacy Award in its inaugural C-Suite Awards for his 20 years of leadership as Chair of Thompson Coburn and his decades of service to some of St. Louis’ largest civic and charitable organizations.