Home > News & Events > Bill Bay elected to American Law Institute’s class of 2016

Bill Bay elected to American Law Institute’s class of 2016

February 2, 2016

Thompson Coburn partner Bill Bay has been elected to the American Law Institute, the leading independent organization in the United States that produces scholarly work to clarify, modernize, and improve the law.

Bill is one of just 61 legal professionals elected as members of ALI in January 2016. Other new members include prominent law professors, judges, public interest attorneys, and corporate counsel. He is the only newly elected member from Missouri, and joins a select group of Thompson Coburn attorneys who have received the honor.

ALI members are selected through confidential nominations, which must supported by two other members. The 2,789-member organization drafts and releases frequent restatements of the law in various areas. Described as “the country’s most prestigious legal organization involved in law reform,” the group also examines areas of the law in need of reform. According to ALI, “Institute publications have been accorded an authority greater than that imparted to any legal treatise, an authority more nearly comparable to that accorded to judicial decisions.”

Bill’s litigation practice at Thompson Coburn includes more than 30 years of experience in the representation and trial of business disputes. Bill's clients vary from major financial institutions to manufacturers to for-profit colleges. He has litigated cases on behalf of companies facing high-risk litigation and helped businesses manage and respond to large portfolios of litigation in multiple jurisdictions.

Bill is active in a number of legal and community organizations throughout the region and country. A current member of the ABA’s Board of Governors, he has been elected to leadership posts in several local, state and national bar associations, including president of the Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis, president of the St. Louis Bar Foundation and member of the Missouri Bar Board of Governors.