Home > News & Events > 2019 Eagleton Scholarship awarded to Sydney Latimore

2019 Eagleton Scholarship awarded to Sydney Latimore

November 6, 2019

On November 1, this year’s Eagleton Scholarship was presented to Sydney Latimore, currently a 1L at Washington University School of Law.

The scholarship, named in honor of Thompson Coburn's late partner and former U.S. Senator Thomas F. Eagleton, is awarded annually to a 1L law student belonging to a demographic group underrepresented in the legal profession. The recipient also receives a full year of mentoring provided by a Thompson Coburn partner and a paid internship for the following summer. Students must be enrolled at Washington University, Saint Louis University, University of Missouri – Columbia or the University of Illinois.

Sydney received her B.A. in African American Studies from Dartmouth College. During her undergraduate studies, Sydney served as the Chair of the Diversity & Inclusion Committee of the Student Assembly and as a Special Programs Assistant to the Nelson A. Rockefeller Center. Outside of her academic career, Sydney served as a founding member of the Women’s Professional Circle and as a mentor for Big Brothers Big Sisters of Metropolitan Chicago.

The scholarship presentation for Sydney was attended by Washington University law school administrators, Thompson Coburn diversity committee members, Firm Chairman Tom Minogue and Mrs. Barbara Eagleton.

Each year, members of the Diversity Committee undertake the task of interviewing potential candidates over several months. This year’s panel included:

Tony Anderson, Partner, Diversity Committee Co-Chair
Booker Shaw, Partner, Diversity Committee Co-Chair
David Dick, Partner, Railroad
Fred Richards, Partner, Real Estate Tax Assessment
Sarah Chang, Associate, Private Client
Norma Jackson, Director of Diversity, Inclusion, and Professional Development