Home > News & Events > Ben Grove elected President of Q Street

Ben Grove elected President of Q Street

January 10, 2019

Thompson Coburn’s Lobbying & Policy group Legislative Director Ben Grove has been elected President of Q Street, a nonprofit association of LGBT federal lobbyists and public policy advocates working for LGBT equality.

On January 8, Ben hosted Q Street’s annual Welcome Back to Congress reception in the Rayburn House Office Building, attended by over 400 people. Attendees included ten members of Congress. Ben gave introductory remarks and introduced LGBT freshmen Members of Congress Rep. Angie Craig of Minnesota, Rep. Chris Pappas of New Hampshire, and House Veterans Affairs Committee Chairman Mark Takano of California.

Q Street plays a critical role in Washington D.C. as the bridge between private sector lobbyists and Capitol Hill Members and staff seeking to advance LGBT rights. The group began in 2003 after the historic Supreme Court decision in Lawrence v. Texas. It started with monthly breakfasts, where LGBT lobbyists and members of advocacy organizations would meet to discuss current issues. It has since grown to nearly 4,000 members, hosting monthly lunches, large receptions and expanding networking opportunities between K Street and Capitol Hill.

Ben joined Q Street’s Board of Directors in 2014 and was elected Secretary in 2015. In that role, Ben managed the group’s large mailing list and regular publications. In the last four years, the organization established annual budgeting, doubled and diversified the membership, and formally incorporated as a 501(c)(6).

Thompson Coburn's Lobbying & Policy group has been an annual sponsor of Q Street since 2014. Other annual sponsors include Google, Amazon, Facebook, Walmart and the Human Rights Campaign.