Home > News & Events > 2020 Eagleton Scholarship awarded to Yasmin Younis

2020 Eagleton Scholarship awarded to Yasmin Younis

September 1, 2020

On Monday, August 17, the 2020-2021 Eagleton Scholarship was presented to Yasmin Younis, currently a 1L at Saint Louis University School of Law. Firm Chair Roman Wuller and members of the Eagleton Scholarship Sub-Committee surprised Yasmin with the announcement of the Eagleton scholarship award via a WebEx conference call on what happened to be her first day of law school. Belinda Dantley, Director of Inclusion and Diversity Education with Saint Louis University (SLU) School of Law, also joined the call.

The Thomas F. Eagleton Scholarship, named in honor of Thompson Coburn's late partner and former U.S. Senator, is awarded annually to a 1L law student belonging to a demographic group underrepresented in the legal profession. The recipient also receives a full year of mentoring provided by Thompson Coburn partner and a paid internship for the following summer. Prospective Eagleton Scholars must be enrolled at Washington University, Saint Louis University, University of Missouri in Columbia or the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign law schools to be eligible for this award.

Yasmin received her M.A. in International and Comparative Legal Studies from SOAS University of London. During this time, she was selected by cosmetic line Huda Beauty to participate in a global campaign celebrating overachievers. She also served with the SOAS Law Society and the International Bar Association as a legal intern.

Yasmin received her B.A. in Mass Communication from Boston University. She was selected to serve as the Undergraduate Commencement Speaker, and, to-date, her commencement address has received more than two million views on YouTube. During her undergraduate studies, Yasmin also served as the President of the Arabic Society of Boston University and served with the Islamic Society of Boston University.

Each year, members of the TC Diversity Committee volunteer to serve as Eagleton Scholarship Sub-Committee members and undertake the task of interviewing potential candidates. This year’s Scholarship Sub-Committee included:

Tony Anderson, Partner, Diversity Committee Co-Chair
Booker Shaw, Partner, Diversity Committee Co-Chair 
Simran Bindra, Partner, Banking
David Dick, Partner, Railroad
Ruthanne Hammett, Partner, Banking
Wil Holtz, Partner, Intellectual Property
Fred Richards, Partner, Real Estate Tax Assessment
Jarrod Sharp, Partner, Tax Credits
Norma Jackson, Director of Diversity, Inclusion, and Professional Development