Home > News & Events > Amanda Hettinger selected for 2023-2024 Class of Leadership St. Louis

Amanda Hettinger selected for 2023-2024 Class of Leadership St. Louis

May 11, 2023

FOCUS St. Louis has announced that Amanda Hettinger, a partner at Thompson Coburn, has been selected for the 48th Leadership St. Louis program (LSL), a nine-month initiative for leaders committed to enhancing the St. Louis region.

LSL is one of six leadership programs offered by FOCUS St. Louis to achieve its mission of educating and connecting leaders to collaborate towards a thriving St. Louis region. The LSL curriculum delves into various issues, including economic development, racial equity, education, poverty and social services, arts and culture, and the criminal justice system.

Amanda, a partner in the Firm’s business litigation practice, will join other leaders from higher education, finance, non-profit, health, and architecture for the program.

Since joining the Firm in 2002, Amanda has helped companies effectively respond to class actions related to complex tax issues and consumer fraud allegations, with a particular focus on the disclosure aspects of the Missouri Merchandising Practices Act. Amanda has successfully argued motions and appeals in state court, drafted briefs securing the dismissal of multimillion-dollar lawsuits in federal court, resolved significant tax disputes with state and local taxing authorities, and reviewed and drafted legislation aimed at resolving legal issues with a broader public impact. She has also represented public sector entities with constitutional issues and related litigation surrounding pension reform efforts, including the City of St. Louis' high-profile victory regarding the $50 million overhaul of its firefighter pension program.

Leadership St. Louis is designed to challenge participants’ thinking, expose them to new ideas and perspectives, and promote discussion, reflection, and action. Thompson Coburn has a rich history with Leadership St. Louis; many of its attorneys have completed the LSL program, including Sara MellyDon Dorwart, Ali RaffertyRyan Russell Kemper, Bill Bay, Lori Jones, Jarrod Sharp, Ed Cohen, David Dick, Laura Jordan, Cherie Stephens Bock, Larry FriedmanGayle Mercier and Norma Jackson.